RMIT University

History: RMIT University opened as the Working Men's College in June 1887. It was an immediate success. Its founder, Francis Ormond, prominent grazier and philanthropist (below left), had predicted that if the college proved as successful as similar institutions he had seen overseas some two or three hundred students would be attracted in its first two years. In fact, by the end of 1887, nine hundred individual students had enrolled and by 1891 enrolments were running at about two thousand per term.

Location: Since 1887 the inner-city campus has grown up with the City of Melbourne, from the 1880s boom through periods of war, depression and renewed prosperity during the latter half of the twentieth century. In the 1990s, as they acquired campuses in Bundoora and Brunswick they have taken on an active role in developing suburban communities.

Faculties: RMIT University consists of 7 faculties including:
Faculty of Applied Science Faculty of Arts, Design and Communication , Faculty of RMIT Business, Faculty of Constructed Environment, Faculty of Education, Language and community service ,Faculty of Engineering and Faculty of Life Sciences

All Information sourced from RMIT University web site